Hideo Saito Memorial Fund Award

Awarded to young and promising cellists and conductors

Sony Music Foundation established the Hideo Saito Memorial Award in 2002, under the name of the renowned late cellist/conductor/educator.

We present the awards, which is operated by the property bequeathed to the Foundation by his widow Hideko upon her passing,

to young and promising cellists and conductors.

Selection Committee 9 🍞

Lifetime Committee Members:

Seiji OZAWA (Conductor) / Tsuyoshi TSUTSUMI (Cellist) Members with tenure: three persons (tenure of three years)

Awards 97 Plaque/cash award: JPY 5 million for each recipient (total JPY 10 million)



Past recipients 9 7 (*)

The 3rd (FY2004) No cellist awarded

The 5th (FY2006) No cellist awarded

The 4th (FY2005) Sumire KUDO (cellist)

The 6th (FY2007) Dai MIYATA (cellist)

The 8th (FY2009) Mari ENDO (cellist)

The 7th (FY2008) Gen YOKOSAKA (cellist)

The 1st (FY2002) Akio UEKI (cellist) Kazushi ONO (conductor)

The 2nd (FY2003) Nobuo FURUKAWA (cellist) Junichi HIROKAMI (conductor)

Ryusuke NUMAJIRI (conductor)

Tatsuva SHIMONO (conductor)

Alan GILBERT (conductor)

Naoto OTOMO (conductor)

Eiji OUE (conductor)

No conductor awarded

The 9th (FY2010) Yoko HASEGAWA (cellist)

The 12th(FY2013) Rei TSUIIMOTO (cellist)

The 13th(FY2014) Hajime OTOMO (cellist)

The 15th(FY2016) Atsushi SAKAI (cellist)

The 16th (FY2017) Yuya OKAMOTO (cellist)

The 14th(FY2015) Shohei UWAMORI (cellist)

The 10th(FY2011) Hidemi SUZUKI (cellist) The 11th (FY2012) Danjulo ISHIZAKA (cellist)

Kimbo ISHII-ETO (conductor) Ken TAKASEKI (conductor)

Toshiyuki KAMIOKA (conductor)

Kentaro KAWASE (conductor)

Ryuichiro SONODA (conductor)

No conductor awarded

Kazuki YAMADA (conductor) Keiko MITSUHASHI (conductor)